Change Introduced to Prohibited Fish List

Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

The department of agriculture, forestry and fisheries has published an amendment of regulations for the Marine Living Resources Act of 1998 in the Government Gazette.

For both recreational and commercial line fishing the amendment has deleted the fish species Red Steenbras (Petrus rupestris) from the permitted species list and included this fish on the prohibited species list.

The regulations for the permitted species list covers the names of the permitted fish species and the minimum mass, limits, fishing season and area restrictions applicable for the fish.

The prohibited species list for traditional commercial line-fishing includes, but is not limited to the following fish (common names):
•    Banded galjoen
•    Basking shark
•    Brindle bass
•    Bronze bream (bluefish)
•    Cape stumpnose
•    Galjoen
•    Garrick (leervis)
•    Coelacanth
•    Great white shark
•    Kingfishes
•    Ragged tooth shark
•    Red Steenbras
•    River bream (perch)
•    River snapper (rock salmon)
•    Spotted grunter (tiger)
•    Stonebream
•    Swordfish
•    West coast steenbras
•    White musselcracker
•    White steenbras (pignose grunter)

The prohibited species list for recreational fishing includes, but is not limited to the following (common names):
•    Basking shark
•    Brindle bass
•    Coelacanth
•    Great white shark
•    Pipefish & seahorses
•    Potato bass
•    Red Steenbras
•    Sawfishes
•    Whale shark

The full list of the permitted and prohibited fish species (scientific names supplied) is supplied in notice 959 published in Government Gazette 35903 of 23 November 2012.

Sabinet Cape Town Office